Eagan, Minnesota

#45–June95As you may have read in the past couple of weeks, I’ve been appointed the incoming editor of American Woodworker magazine – I begin the new position as of March 15. There is a rich history at American Woodworker. During the mid-90s, AW was full of articles from woodworking legends such as Toshio Odate, Frank Klausz, Don Weber, Kelly Mehler, Jim Tolpin, Mike Dunbar, Patrick Spielman, Silas Kopf and many others. As I began woodworking, I picked up a couple of issues at the newsstand. The issue that I remember best is from June 1995 (shown at left). It’s from this issue that I learned about breadboard ends. Almost immediately I signed up for a subscription.

This past week, I had the chance to visit the current headquarters of the magazine in Eagan, Minnesota to talk with and meet the staff that’s keep that magazine rolling in spite of an almost complete lack of corporate backing. IMG_0056(If you’re a current subscriber, you owe a huge thanks to Tom Caspar, Tim Johnson, Brad Holden, Joe Gohman, Jason Zetner and Shelly Jacobsen.) American Woodworker magazine will move its operation to Cincinnati in the coming weeks, although Tom Caspar and Brad Holden will remain in Minnesota and work remotely as editors. Other members of the team are moving on to new opportunities.

(If you’re not a subscriber to AW, may I suggest that you purchase a subscription quickly. Tom and his gang are working on issue #172, and the new regime takes over for the following issue. I can say with great conviction that you won’t want to miss a single issue.)

While in Eagan doing what I needed to do, I walked around the office, workshop and a couple of storage areas to see the operation.IMG_0058 On a wall in one area photos – hundreds of photos – are thumb-tacked to the walls. It’s a visual history of American Woodworker magazine. There are, of course, images of projects from the many issues, but what caught my eye were the photos of past authors and woodworkers. There is a young Mike Dunbar shown looking through a couple of squares while handsaws hang on the wall behind him. Another image is of a younger Thomas Moser seated in a Moser-designed rocking chair. There are lots more photos. (Sorry that my photos of the photos are a bit fuzzy.)

Those photos were not the only historical records uncovered. Back in one of those storerooms are box upon box of old American Woodworker magazine files containing scads of original transparencies – how magazine photos were taken prior to digital cameras. Each box held the contents of 10 to 14 issues, and each issue is broken into articles. I was able to find the folders for each of the articles in the issue shown in the opening photo. You talk about history – and memories. I cannot wait to get started. Get your subscription now.

IMG_0095

Build Something Great!

Glen

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Eagan, Minnesota

  1. Congrats, Glen. You know I will follow. Love your work, where ever it comes from.

  2. Don Johnson, San Antonio, TX

    Well deserved, Glen! You’ll bring good perspective for those of us who love woodworking.

  3. Glen,

    I teach high school shop. American Woodworker fit the power tool gap between Wood and Fine Woodworking (PW had the hand tool & historic niche balanced with your production emphasis).

    AW always wanted too much $ for what you got, a bunch of hobbyists who could write or take good photos.

    I own your Illustrated Guide to Period Furniture. I’ve enjoyed your tenure at PW. I look forward to seeing what you can do at AW.

    Kurt

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  4. rondennis303

    Glen – I wish you great success. I am confident that you can return AW to the level of quality that was present when Ellis Walentine was involved. The day Reader’s Digest killed-off Ellis and the editorial staff was a sad day for woodworking in the US. After that, I never renewed my subscription again ( and cancelled my subscription to Reader’s Digest that I had since 1972 )

    I sincerely hope that you can create a publication that will surpass all past efforts, and create a new standard against which all others will be measured.

    As you say, “Build Something Great!”

  5. JeremyLP

    I am really excited to see what comes of AW with the coming changes. Good luck Glen!!

  6. Bill thompson

    Glen,
    congratulation on your new postion at AW. Looks like you will do any thing to get away from Chuck! With you at American Woodworker, i will get my subscription today.
    Bill

  7. C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S
    Glen…

    That is simply WONDERFUL!!
    One of my favorite magazines that replaced another magazine I no longer take! :)
    I am SO HAPPY that you will be with Amer. WW….
    I know you will make the magazine BETTER (not saying it’s bad… I love it!)
    I am on Cloud 9 along with you! I am so happy!

    GREAT NEWS!

    Thank you!
    Your friend,
    Joe

  8. Joe K

    I was not going to renew my subscription to AW but with you becoming involved I will renew it. I have enjoyed your work at PW and am sure that you will have a following at AW. Good luck

    Joe K.

  9. Eric R

    Breaking out my credit card now !
    I’m sure I will enjoy the subscription.
    Good luck in your new position.
    Eric
    central Florida

Leave a Reply

